Posted on Leave a comment

The Mind-Gut Connection

Discover the best books
as soon as they're posted.

We love to hunt for health & wellness
books that deserve exposure.
DIET BOOK

The Mind-Gut Connection

by Emeran Mayer, MD

Combining cutting-edge neuroscience with the latest discoveries on the human microbiome, a practical guide in the tradition of The Second Brain and The Good Gut that conclusively demonstrates the inextricable, biological link between mind and the digestive system.

Synopsis-From Author

We have all experienced the connection between our mind and our gut-the decision we made because it “felt right”; the butterflies in our stomach before a big meeting; the anxious stomach rumbling we get when we’re stressed out. While the dialogue between the gut and the brain has been recognized by ancient healing traditions, including Ayurvedic and Chinese medicine, Western medicine has by the large failed to appreciate the complexity of how the brain, gut, and more recently, the gut microbiota-the microorganisms that live inside our digestive tract-communicate with one another. In The Mind-Gut Connection, Dr. Emeran Mayer, professor of medicine and executive director of the UCLA Center for Neurobiology of Stress, offers a evolutionary and provocative look at this developing science, teaching us how to harness the power of the mind-gut connection to take charge of our health and listen to the innate wisdom of our bodies.

Our Thoughts

The Mind-Gut Connection is a revolutionary new holistic view of what keeps us healthy, ranging from the food choices we make to the ways we can train our mind, with the ultimate goal of attaining optimal health. 

The Mind-Gut Connection describes:

  • How gut microbes are active participants in the communications between your brain and your gut.
  • How mode of delivery, breastfeeding and early life stress interact to program your gut brain axis.
  • Why a diet that is optimal for your gut microbes is also best for your brain health.
  • How to “listen to your gut” and be mindful of the signals your body is sending you.
  • 10 simple steps you can take towards optimal health

Read One of Our Books?

Share your thoughts with us and use the hashtag #BloomWithFlourish

Join Our
Book Club

Receive the latest book recommendations, recipes, health news, and promotions.

Flourish Blog
Fitness | Beauty | Relationships | Parenthood | Mindfulness | Health | Book Club
LEARN MORE
Recipes
Balanced Breakfast | Lean Lunches | Dinner | Snacks | Kid-Friendly | Drinks & Smoothies | Cocktails | Sweets
START COOKING
Book Club
Enjoy a collection of curated books to help you bloom.
READ MORE
© Flourish Health | All Rights Reserved
Posted on Leave a comment

The Family Upstairs

Discover the best books
as soon as they're posted.

We love to hunt for health & wellness
books that deserve exposure.
Suspense, thriller

The Family Upstairs

by Lisa Jewell

The Verdict: A dark, twisty, engrossing family saga.

Synopsis from the author

Some family secrets should never see the light of day.

Be careful who you let in.

Soon after her twenty-fifth birthday, Libby Jones returns home from work to find the letter she’s been waiting for her entire life. She rips it open with one driving thought: I am finally going to know who I am.

She soon learns not only the identity of her birth parents, but also that she is the sole inheritor of their abandoned mansion on the banks of the Thames in London’s fashionable Chelsea neighbourhood, worth millions. Everything in Libby’s life is about to change. But what she can’t possibly know is that others have been waiting for this day as well-and she is on a collision course to meet them.

Twenty-five years ago, police were called to 16 Cheyne Walk with reports of a crying baby. When they arrive, they found a healthy ten-month-old happily cooing in her crib in the bedroom. Downstairs in the kitchen lay three dead bodies, all dressed in black, next to a hastily scrawled note. And the four children reported to live at Cheyne Walk were gone.

In The Family Upstairs, the master of “bone chilling suspense” brings us the can’t-look-away story of three entangles families living in a house with the darkest secrets.

Our Thoughts

How rare is it to find a book that completely defies your expectations but does so in a truly thrilling way? The Family Upstairs¬†is a fresh, inventive take on domestic suspense; effortlessly traversing intimate family secrets and vast, far-reaching conspiracies, Lisa Jewell’s newest release is a masterclass in psychological thriller plotting. Come for this book’s eye catching cover and twisty plot, stay for its genuinely surprising and original variations on a story of family secrets and interpersonal suspense. An excellent 2019 release that offers psychological thrillers.¬†

Read One of Our Books?

Share your thoughts with us and use the hashtag #BloomWithFlourish

Join Our
Book Club

Receive the latest book recommendations, recipes, health news, and promotions.

Flourish Blog
Fitness | Beauty | Relationships | Parenthood | Mindfulness | Health | Book Club
LEARN MORE
Recipes
Balanced Breakfast | Lean Lunches | Dinner | Snacks | Kid-Friendly | Drinks & Smoothies | Cocktails | Sweets
START COOKING
Book Club
Enjoy a collection of curated books to help you bloom.
READ MORE
© Flourish Health | All Rights Reserved